Next step…negotiating

So I did it!

Yep!

I landed a job. Phew…

In this tough market, it is an absolute bear to be looking for work. Well, the truth is, it’s a bear in any market really. There is so much planning, researching, and preparation involved. After my first interview, I was practically on the couch for five days just trying to recuperate. And then there was a second interview.

So now comes the negotiation stage. I am bound and determined to negotiate. I haven’t really ever done so in the past. The truth is, I didn’t really know how to negotiate and I didn’t know that I should. Men do it all the time. So, why not women?

As I have been processing my negotiating strategy and thinking about my requests, I can’t help but think “Man, I am lucky to have this job; maybe I shouldn’t ask for more money” or “Maybe they will be insulted that I am asking for more” or “I could live with the salary they offered.” The truth is, I have every right to negotiate for a better living just as a man would. I doubt that most men think twice about negotiating for a better offer.

So, after much careful research on negotiating, I have pushed aside my pessimistic whispers and have made a decision; I will negotiate and I will be proud of myself for doing so in the end no matter what the outcome.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Next step…negotiating”

  1. Hideous Penguin Boy says :

    ha, good stuff. how did the negotiations go?

  2. putneyfarm says :

    Congrats, and no harm in trying to negotiate- it is expected….

Leave a comment